first_imgPANAJI: Goa BJP president Vinay Tendulkar on Friday won the Rajya Sabha seat from the State by defeating Congress MP Shantaram Naik.Mr. Tendulkar received 21 votes from the BJP and ruling alliance members and the lone NCP legislator, Churchill Alemao, while Mr. Naik got 16 votes from the Congress.All 38 MLAs of the truncated 40-member State Legislative Assembly earlier in the day cast their vote for the Rajya Sabha seat, which falls vacant on July 28. Speaking to reporters, BJP Minister Francis D’Souza said “There may be cross-voting here too, if cross-voting has happened (in the presidential polls).” However, the results did not show any cross voting in the Rajya Sabha election. Mr. Tendulkar later thanked Mr. Alemao for voting for him. He said the win was expected. “Now we have won across all levels in Goa — in panchayats, zilla parishads, Assembly and now Parliamentary elections,” he told reporters. ‘Didn’t get secular votes’Leader of Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar said the Congress had failed to attract secular votes from the BJP allies, which led to the loss. “We had appealed to MLAs with secular credentials to come out and vote for our candidate, but there was no response, if one goes by the votes,” he said. Mr. Kavlekar, however, seemed relieved that after the cross-voting in the Presidential election earlier this week, the Congress managed to keep all its votes intact.last_img

Vinay Tendulkar wins Goa RS seat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *